Showing posts with label privacy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label privacy. Show all posts

Monday, 15 July 2013

How to clear browsing history on the new Chrome for Android


Chrome 28 for Android browsing historyThe latest version of Chrome for Android makes it much easier to clear your browsing history than before.

Clearing the browsing history on Chrome for Android has always been a bit of a chore. You either had to memorize chrome://history, or bookmark it. Chrome 28 for Android has changed that by adding a menu item for quick and easy access to your browsing history.

Once the history data comes up, you can click on the "X" next to the individual sites you want to clear. You can also click on the "Clear browsing data" button to clear your entire browsing history, cache, cookies and site data, saved passwords, and autofill data.
To get to Chrome's browsing history on Android, hit the menu key, then select "History."

Thursday, 4 July 2013

How to change privacy settings so that companies stop tracking you

Are you always on internet like me and worried about tracking of your personal data? There are too many companies tracking your activities and collecting your personal details. You never know what will these companies do, Will it remain with them as confidential information or will they use it for their business? There is an app named PrivacyFix which will give us all details of companies tracking you and will help in fixing this issue.

online privacy control
PrivacyFix
Privacyfix is a Chrome and Firefox browser extension which scans for privacy issues based on your Facebook and Google settings, the other sites that you visit and the companies tracking you. All ratings and calculations for Privacyfix happen inside your browser and then take you instantly to the settings that you need to fix. Privacyfix also can warn you of new privacy issues as you surf the web, so you know when sites like Facebook change their privacy policies or have privacy breaches. Facebook and Google settings are to be changed manually by you as this app will not be allowed to do it for you. Once the scan is done PrivacyFix will give all details and its up to you to change or remove your details.

How to set your Vine account to private

Keep your personal videos to yourself with the latest update to Vine.
One of the biggest features missing from Vine since its launch has been the ability to mark an account as private. Twitter's video sharing service, from day one, has been an all public affair, with no way for users to easily share a Vine privately.
Today Vine announced it was updating its iOS and Android apps, finally bringing a level of privacy to the short video social network.
The iOS version also includes a long list of other notable features, which make for a notable answer to Instagram's new video feature rolled out last month.
In order to set your Vine account to private you'll need to download the latest version for your iPhone or Android device. Once installed iOS will need to go to view profile and then tap the on Settings button. Android users can tap on the menu button in the top-right corner and select Settings. From here tap on "Your Content."
You can then enable account privacy by moving the "Posts are protected" switch to the on position. And, should you find your posts containing sensitive material that might be offensive to some, you may as well turn the sensitive posts switch on while you're here.
Now that your Vine account is private, the only people who will be able to view your posts are your followers on Vine. Of course, if you decide to push a video to Twitter or Facebook, those friends will also be able to view your 6-second clip.

Tuesday, 2 July 2013

Change privacy settings for shared posts in Facebook for Android

Forgot to set the correct privacy settings on a post before you shared? Here's a quick tip about today's update that lets you fix sharing settings on any post.

When sharing a post from the previous version of Facebook for Android, you may have forgotten to tap the itsy-bitsy people-sharing icon before you sent it off to the Interwebs. This icon controls the settings for who can see your post, be it Public, Friends, or other groups you're part of on Facebook. Fortunately, this icon hasn't gone anywhere, but in case you forget to use it, there's a fix -- and it doesn't involve logging in on the desktop Web site.
First, make sure you have the most recent version of Facebook for Android. Just because you've done all updates from the Google Play Store doesn't necessarily mean that you're using the latest version. Many mobile app updates are done with a staged rollout, which can be quite annoying if you're not in the first group. The easiest way to check your current version is to go into the Application Manager (Settings > Applications) and find Facebook in the list. When you tap it, the version number will be displayed in the top area of the screen.
If you don't have version 3.3 you will need to wait for the update to reach your Android device, or install it from a third party (at your own risk). Once you're on version 3.3, follow these quick steps to adjust privacy settings for shared posts:
After a post is finished updating to Facebook, just tap on the three dots in the top-right corner and select Edit Privacy. Next, select the audience you want to share the post with. Now the post will be available only to the people you selected.
If you're like me, you probably think this feature is extremely overdue. What other changes would you like to see in the mobile app? Share your thoughts in the comments. 

How to clear all your Android app caches with App Cache Cleaner


The apps on your Android device typically use a cache to improve performance. Over time, the cache for certain apps can grow quite large. Clearing the app cache can free up precious space and sometimes resolve problems you might be having with the app.

App Cache Cleaner lists the apps on your Android device by the apps with the largest cache. You can tap on the individual apps to clear their cache, or tap on the green "Clear All" button at the bottom to clear all the caches at the same time.To clear the cache, you normally go to the Android app manager, click on the app from the list, then tap on "Clear cache." If you want to clear the cache for all your apps, you have to repeat this procedure for every single app, unless you use a cache cleaner like App Cache Cleaner.
App Cache Cleaner
If you prefer a hands-off approach to managing the cache for your apps, you can configure App Cache Cleaner to clear them at regular intervals.
App Cache Cleaner interval settings
App Cache Cleaner is relatively small in size and focuses on just managing the cache. If you want to try an advanced cache management app, take a look at Clean Master, which also erases Snapchat files.